Vote for the champions 2020: poll now open

Graphics by Nordcap Studio

AIPS Media

LAUSANNE, November 20, 2020 – The year 2020 has been an exceptional one for sport and sports journalism because of the Covid-19 pandemic. In spite of a calendar riddled with suspensions, postponements and cancellations, several sporting events were still organised and concluded, albeit under very specific conditions. As a mark of respect for the preparation and efforts of all the professional athletes, AIPS opens its usual end-of-the-year poll to choose the very best from a peculiar year of sport.


AIPS members from all over the world can vote for the Best Athletes and Team of 2020. AIPS has decided not to present an award for the Best Press Facilities, 2020. This is a reflection of the unique COVID-19 era in which we find ourselves. There have been no major international or continental sporting events held under normal circumstances this year, therefore it is not possible to conduct a fair vote for the year’s Best Press Facilities. We look forward to reintroducing the award in 2021.

AIPS will provide a global perspective on this year of sports and journalism, counting on the vote of its vast network of professionals across the world.

Members can vote by clicking on the link above or by clicking on the banner “VOTE for the champions 2020” on the top of the AIPS homepage. AIPS card number is required to start the voting procedure. 

The vote deadline is on December 28 at 11:59 pm CET.

Here is the list of the Best Athletes and Team of 2020.

Best Female Athlete of 2020 

Babos Tímea (Hungary) – Tennis
Brignone  Federica (Italy) – Alpine ski
Gidey Letesenbet (Ethiopia) – Athletics
Hassan Sifan (The Netherlands) – Athletics
Hermann Tina (Germany) – Skeleton
Jepchirchir Peres (Kenya) – Athletics
Kenin Sofia (USA) – Tennis
Kosgey Brigid (Kenya) – Athletics
Kostornaya Alëna Sergeevna (Russia) – Figure skating
Lucz Dóra (Hungary) – Canoeing
Marin  Carolina (Spain) – Badminton
Miedema Vivianne (The Netherlands) – Football
Osaka Naomi (Japan) – Tennis
Pušpure Sanita (Ireland) – Rowing
Røiseland Marte Olsbu (Norway) – Biathlon
Rojas Yulimar (Venezuela) – Athletics
Shiffrin Mikaela (USA) – Alpine ski
Świątek Iga (Poland) – Tennis
Van der Breggen Anna (The Netheralands) – Cycling
Vonn Lindsay (USA) – Alpine ski
Williams Serena (USA) Tennis

Best Male Athlete 2020

Alaphilippe Julian (France) – Cycling
Boe Johannes Tignes (Norway) – Biathlon
Cheptegei Joshua (Uganda) – Athletics
Djokovic Novak (Serbia) – Tennis
Duplantis Armand (Sweden) – Athletics
Fati Ansu (Spain) – Football
Hamilton Lewis (UK) – Formula 1
James LeBron (USA) – Basketball
Kilde Alexander Aamodt (Norway) – Alpine skiing
Lewandowski Robert (Poland) – Football
Nadal Rafael (Spain) – Tennis
Nielsen Sverri (Denmark) – Rowing
Pogačar Tadej (Slovenia) – Cycling
Prskavec Jiří (Czech Republic) – Canoeing
Ronaldo Cristiano (Portugal) – Football
Thiem Dominic (Austria) – Tennis
Thomas Justin (USA) – Golf
Tsitsipas Stefanos (Greece) – Tennis
Vetter Johannes (Germany) – Athletics
Warholm Karsten (Norway) – Athletics

Best Team of 2020 

Bobteam Friedrich (Germany) – Bobsleigh
FC Bayern Munich (Germany) – Football
German Eight (Germany) – Rowing
Liverpool FC (Great Britain) – Football
Los Angeles Lakers (USA) – Basketball
Men’s K1 Team (France) –  Canoe-Kayak Slalom
Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team (Germany) – Formula 1
Norway Biathlon Team (Female) (Norway) – Biathlon
Norway Biathlon Team (Male) (Norway) – Biathlon
Spanish National Handball Team (Spain) – Handball
Switzerland Alpine Ski National Team (Switzerland) – Alpine Skiing
Timea Babos & Christina Mladenovich (Hungary) – Tennis